Movie Critic Attempt: “Grand Budapest Hotel”

Candid Critic Commentary: 4 1/2  claps (out of five) 

The Grand Budapest Hotel (2014) Poster

Watched from the comfort of my airplane seat in route to Florida, “Grand Budapest Hotel” (GBH) was the first of my Oscar movies watched this season.  Having seen a number of Wes Anderson movies in the past (eg. The Royal Tennebaums,  Fantastic Mr Fox, Moonrise Kingdom), I didn’t approach this movie with high expectations. In the past, though I found Anderson’s directing to be both interesting and quirky, I also found myself lost and confused in this unrealistic plot lines.  GBH, is both similar and all together different.  The plot moves quickly, but easy enough to follow along.  The characters, though each odd in their own rite, are relatable and interesting. Beyond the cast and plot, this movie is fun to watch for the makeup, the sets, the quick wit and the cameos.

As much as I wouldn’t be disappointed if this movie one a major award (GPH is nominated for nine this year), I don’t expect to see it walk away with best director or best picture.  Instead I’d watch for this to win for editing, makeup, and production design.

Tagged , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Movie Critic Attempt: “Grand Budapest Hotel”

  1. shadowrun300 says:

    Unfortunately it’s going to be a while before I can see this movie, since all I have is Netflix streaming. But now I can’t wait to see if you’re correct in your predictions! 🙂

  2. Erin says:

    Do you have RedBox? This is out on Redbox… if you want to give it a go.

Leave a comment