Quote of the week (1/26/15)

Quote of the week: You have brains in your head. You have feet in your shoes.  You can steer yourself any direction you choose.  – Dr. Seuss 

Quote.012615 As much as I would love to have to take the credit for finding this quote this week, I can’t. I heard it in church this morning, in the goodbye speech from my son’s principal. He is leaving our little, Catholic, grade school and to say I’m nervous about what this will do to the school mid-year, is an understatement.

This little school is the same school I went to and made long-term friends. I had a great experience at the school and so far, in my son’s early exposure, he appears to be on a similar track. All this change weighs on me, as I question both what can I do to help and do I have enough time to help. I have already been active on every committee available to me, and rise to the occasion when asked, but I also want to be able to enjoy the years of my boys in school.  This is really where the second half of the quote fits in:  YOU can steer  yourself any direction YOU choose. I need to be thoughtful about what I choose.

One thought on “Quote of the week (1/26/15)

  1. shadowrun300 says:

    That IS a scary change. In situations like these I always think of Michael J. Fox’s quote: “Don’t spend a lot of time imagining the worst case scenario. It rarely goes down as you imagine it will. And if by some fluke it does, you will have lived it twice.”
    I’m sure they’ll find another great principal to run your school. And kids are so resilient, they’ll adjust in no time. 🙂

Leave a comment